All About Press Reality

What is the Legal Limit For Window Tint?

Aug 5


In California the legally-required window tint limit is 70% light transmittance. This is a great starting limit as it makes tints appear natural. However, it may not always correspond to the laws in other states. Actually, certain states are more strict than others, and some do not allow tints on windows of any kind whatsoever. If you reside in these states, you should take a look at the below.

South Carolina

South Carolina's window tint laws prohibit the use of film that have more than 20 percent. Cars with higher levels of tint are subject to a slightly more strict legal limit. Contrary to other states South Carolina allows the use of up to twenty percent on the back windows of MPVs. This dark film can be applied on all windows and the front, with the exception of. Tint that is greater than the color of the typical window is unlawful, regardless of manufacturer recommendations.

The maximum tint of South Carolina's window limit is 27%. The windshield may also be tinted on the sides and rear windows, as well as the upper three inches. This film can provide UV protection as well as glare reduction and privacy advantages. The tint can not reflect however, it can't be dark enough to prevent visible light from getting into the vehicle. According to the Newberry Observer, Prosperity, SC law enforcement has arrested Prosperity residents due to windows with dark tints.

New York

New York's legal limit for window tint is dependent on the type of vehicle and the amount of light it will block. Passenger cars have to meet 70 percent of the minimum standard. Other vehicles, also known as multi-purpose vehicles, have to be able to meet more stringent requirements, such as the requirement for a motive power of less than 10 horsepower, a truck or bus chassis, and features intended to enable occasional off-road operations. Furthermore, they can't have more than 70% of the surface coated with film.

The majority of states permit tinting of windows, however New York is different. Check with your state's DMV website for the exact limitations. The right tint can help you avoid getting an infringement notice or being punished. If you decide to tint your windows, you'll also be able to enjoy less glare and more privacy. So long as you remain within the limits, though there's nothing to worry about. The laws don't apply to commercial buildings, so it's worth checking with the DMV in your area to make sure you're staying within the laws.


It is important to be informed of Virginia legal limits for window tinting. There are guidelines and limitations that are applicable to all states. If you're aware of the limitations, it is easy to stay clear of danger. If you're not sure you should consult the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. You can utilize their online resources to find out the limitations and what you're allowed and what you are not permitted to do.

Virginia's window tint laws are very stringent. It is possible to be charged with tinting your windows in Virginia. It's a class 3 misdemeanor. Along with the fines, you will be required to take off your window film. Repeat offenders may face jail time. Fines start at $96 You can, however, avoid paying these fees by showing proof that you removed or repaired your vehicle.


The laws governing window tinting are different from state to state. In Georgia the tinting requirement is at a specific percentage to block glare, however not too high that it blocks the view of drivers coming up. Furthermore, Georgian tint laws do not specify a specific level of tinting for the side mirrors. A common question asked about the window tint laws of Georgia is what kinds of tints are legal and what the legal limit are. Here's what you need to know.

In Georgia laws, it is required that window tints not lower than 32% VLT for front and rear windows. Rear windows can be tinted as high as 32% VLT, but cannot be darkerened. The tinting of your windshield can be at a minimum of six inches, but you cannot tint the side windows any lower. It is necessary to select the tint that allows more light than 32% VLT.


Different levels of tinting can be found for various windows. For example, your front windshield cannot be tinted in any way, whereas your rear and side windows may have any tinting, but not more than 35%. But, the tinting on your passenger and back side windows should not exceed 20. It is illegal to tint your rear or front windows with more that 35 percent of the total area.

Window tint can be applied in your car for a variety of reasons, including security and heat reduction. Missouri law stipulates that the front and side windows must reflect at least 35%. This means that even most modestly tinted windows can reduce heat and glare more effectively than large windows without protection. Before tinting your windows it is important to verify your local laws.

Phone +18474292479
408 Brook St, Elgin, IL 60120